New title announcement coming soon!

Major announcement coming in just a few days…are you on my email list? Sign up to receive the announcement in your inbox, and follow me on Facebook and Twitter!

Thank you, Slaughter reviewers!

SI-1200x600-ad-NowA shout out to early reviewers of my new novel, Slaughter, Idaho! Thanks to Joy, Sherry, Mo W, Flip Flip Queen, Ann, and justjodi! I appreciate you taking the time to post your opinion on Amazon, and I’m glad you enjoyed the novel.

Thank you! Much appreciated, as your reviews help the novel find new readers.

A new tale of horror: Slaughter, Idaho

You might remember Daniel talking about a town called Slaughter, Idaho, in the novel A Haunting In Wisconsin. My new novel is set in that town.

SI cover 400x600The horror comes every sixteen years…

Slaughter used to exist in Idaho years ago. Something happened to the town, something that caused it to fall a fraction of a second behind the rest of our timeline — and the entire town disappeared.

Andrew knows the rare skill of travel between timelines, but finding a town like Slaughter — unmoored, isolated, drifting in time — is a difficult task, and traveling to it is even harder.

The space between timelines is a hunting ground for strange creatures that feed on meat they find in places like Slaughter. Andrew lands in a town under siege, with residents arguing about how to best prepare for the invaders who arrive every sixteen years.

He meets Helen, who lost her parents in the last attack. The next cycle is due any day, and the town is hunkering down, deploying new defenses. When the creatures arrive on schedule, Andrew and Helen try to repel the attack, but they are overpowered: people are dragged from their homes and rounded up like cattle, then fed while still alive to giant Eaters. It’s a huge farming operation for the invaders, where half the town’s population will be used as food.

The attack usually lasts for days, but this time, the invaders leave suddenly, well before their normal departure, sparing most of the town. The citizens think they’ve been lucky, but Andrew and Helen soon learn the truth: the worst is yet to come.

Can Andrew and Helen convince the town of what they’ve learned? Or will the citizens of Slaughterid ignore them, thinking they dodged a bullet? The political and religious forces within the town all have their own agendas, and Andrew and Helen’s warnings don’t fit nicely with their plans.

When the new terror arrives, they’re completely unprepared…except for the few who listened.


Although Slaughter, Idaho is not a “River” book, and is a completely stand-alone novel, those familiar with The River series will notice a few nods to the River universe here and there. 🙂

If you enjoyed “The Port of Missing Souls,” you won’t want to miss “Capricorn,” available today!

TDR-C Cover 400x600

Capricorn, the third book in The Dark River series, is available for Kindle and paperback now! It continues the story of The Port of Missing Souls. Pick up a copy today, and join Derick and A as the adventure continues!


New title announcement: Capricorn

The next title in The Dark River series is available for pre-order! Derick and A return in…

TDR-C Cover 400x600


Capricorn begins where The Port of Missing Souls ends. Here’s the full book description:

The Dark River: a place most people with “the gift” will not explore. Its reputation for evil and addiction is well known and well deserved.

Things have changed in The Dark River since Derick, a retired cop, found a way to take down the powerful LeFever. Chaos rules. Factions are vying for power. With a leadership vacuum at the top, Derick is pressured to take LeFever’s place, but he doesn’t want to be in charge.

Staying too long in the Dark River allows worms to hatch in one’s blood, making a return to the real world impossible. When a cure to purge the worms is in jeopardy, Derick reluctantly takes the leadership reins to ensure the cure is instituted successfully.

He soon learns troubling details: researchers are trying to make the cure work — but they’re also investigating the strange circumstances of LeFever’s death. Derick is stunned to learn that LeFever might have used an ancient ritual to cheat death by changing himself in a bizarre and unimaginable way.

The intrigue of the Dark River deepens as new alliances are forged and betrayals emerge. In the end, he can only rely on A, the monochild. But A has disappeared…

Capricorn is a fast-paced novel set in a horrific underworld. It begins just days after The Port of Missing Souls (The River series) ends. Fans of The River series will not want to miss this continuation of the Unser story, set almost entirely in the creepy, shadowy realm of the Dark River.

Order your copy today and receive it August 8!

Become a Patron, and you can receive it before the release date!